What's new.......

2018 Premier's Athletic Awards


The best athletes in Newfoundland and Labrador were celebrated at the 14th annual Premier’s Athletic Awards .

Congratulations to some of our best swimmers!


Well done!

2018 Summer Recruitment Camp Grant

 SNL is once again offering summer swim camp grants to assist clubs in recruiting new swimmers to their clubs. Summer camps are not only an opportunity for swimmers to develop swim skills but it is also an opportunity for swim clubs to attract new swimmers to their clubs.  Application due date is June 5, 2018.

2018 SNL Dedicated Swimmer Award

My Blog

Swimming NL Senior Provincial Team News


Swimming NL is very pleased to announce our Provincial Team who will be representing us next month in Red Deer, Alberta at the ‘66th Annual Freeze or Fry’ meet hosted by the Red Deer Catalina Swim Club.

Congratulations swimmers!

2018 Provincial Championships Meet Summary



Meet Manager: Mandy Bull and Chris Rowe sjlmeetmgr@gmail.com 

Swimmers from 14 clubs throughout the province, Ontario, Manitoba, and St. Pierre met at the Aquarena in St. John’s, March 23-25, 2018 to compete in the 2018 Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador Long Course Provincial Championships. Competition got underway on Friday morning and concluded on Sunday evening. 



12 & under girls:


1st Luca Albert    St. John’s Legends 

2nd Emily Noseworthy   St. John’s Legends  

3rd  Abby Andrews St. John’s Legends 

13 & 14 girls :


1st Abby Williams St. John’s Legends  

2nd Aideen Nelson Corner Brook Rapids 

3rd Megan Holden   Mount Pearl Marlins   

15 & over girls:  

1st Abby Simms   St. John’s Legends 

2nd Katie Williams St. John’s Legends 

3rd Emily Ricketts St. John’s Legends 

12 & under boys: 

1st Darcy Butler   Mount Pearl Marlins  2nd Brian Lee  CBS Bluefins 

3rd Jaxson Row   Mount Pearl Marlins 

13 & 14 boys :  

1st Cormac Bull   St. John’s Legends

2nd James Drover    St. John’s Legends  3rd  Alix Olaisola Drakkars Swim Club 

15 & over boys:  

1st Thomas Chafe    St. John’s Legends

2nd Dylan Morawski  Gander Lakers 

3rd Max Kelly     St. John’s Legends 

Top Swims Male and Female (top swim is awarded the Jacinta Sheppard Memorial Award):

The Jacinta Sheppard Memorial Award based on the highest-ranking swim scored on the FINA Point Chart during finals was presented to Noah Cumby  (SJL).

The top female swim based on the highest ranking swim scored on the FINA Point Chart during finals was presented to Abby Simms . 

Team awards are based on total points.

Top Team 

1) St. John’s Legends ( 7,730 points)

2) Mount Pearl Marlins (3686 points)

3) CBS Bluefins (1591 points) 


 Most Improved Team   

St. John’s Legends Swim Club


Volunteer of the Year – Chris Rowe (St. John’s Legends) 

Coach of the Year – Duffy Earle (Mount Pearl Marlins) 

Female Swimmer of the Year – Kate Sullivan (Mount Pearl Marlins) 

Male Swimmer of the Year – Noah 

Cumby (St. John’s Legends) 

2018 Swimming NL - Memorial University Bursary Award


Swimming NL is very pleased to announce that ALLISON SOMERS is the recipient of the 2018 Swimming NL - Memorial University Bursary.

The Swimming NL- Memorial University bursary, valued at $1000.00 annually, is available to a student continuing beyond their first year of studies at Memorial University of Newfoundland. The bursary recipient will be a swimmer in good standing with Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador and will be a returning member to the Memorial University of Newfoundland Seahawks Varsity Swim Team. Awarding of this bursary is based on swimming performance at the varsity level. It is awarded by the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Scholarships and Financial Aid to a student in good academic standing at the university.

Congratulations Ally!!

SWIM FOR HOPE 2018 - Huge Success!

  This past Friday evening swimmers from across the province participated in the 22nd Annual Swim for Hope and raised over $131,000. The Swim for Hope is a 12-hour continuous swim relay where participants collect individual and corporate pledges. These young swimmers – with ages ranging from six to 18 years old – are members of 12 Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador clubs who, along with Community Challenge swimmers, participated in the annual Swim for Hope in communities from St. John’s to Labrador City. Since this event began more than $2.3 million dollars have been raised. All funds raised are shared between the Dr. H. Bliss Murphy Cancer Care Foundation and the participating clubs of Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador. Proceeds received by the clubs of Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador will be directed towards supporting competitive swimming in our province. The Dr. H. Bliss Murphy Cancer Care Foundation develops, stewards and distributes charitable resources to enhance treatment and supportive care programs for cancer patients, fund local cancer research initiatives and provides continuing education opportunities for staff of the Dr. H. Bliss Murphy Cancer Centre and affiliated cancer programs in Newfoundland and Labrador. Both organizations extend their sincerest thanks to Subway for sponsoring this event, as well as the Swim for Hope coordinators, volunteers, parents, coaches, donors and swimmers who make the Swim for Hope such a success each year. 

For further information, including contact information for local swim clubs, please contact:

 Corina Hartley (709) 576-7946

 Executive Director Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador   

Swimmers Finalists for Annual Provincial Sport Awards.....

Swimming NL is very proud of KATE SULLIVAN (MPM) and NOAH CUMBY (SJL) for being named as finalists for the upcoming Sport NL Annual Awards in the Junior Female and Junior Male Athlete of the Year categories.
Sport NL recognizes the provinces great athletes past and present by presenting 9 provincial annual awards and through the induction of 6 new Newfoundland and Labrador Sports Hall of Fame members.

The 2018 Stars and Legends Awards Gala will take place April 21, 2018 at the Sheraton Hotel in St. John's.

Congratulations Kate and Noah!


Coaching NL Winter and Spring Schedule

Swimmer Representative 2017-18

   Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador is pleased to announce that DYLAN MORAWSKI (GLSC) has been named  the SNL Swimmer Representative for the 2017-18 season. Dylan will now serve as a member of the SNL Competitions Committee. Congratulations Dylan and welcome aboard!

Contact Us

Drop us a line!

Swimming Newfoundland and Labrador

1296A Kenmount Road, Paradise, NF A1L1N3, ca

(709) 576-7946